Ludo Frevel Crystallography Scholarship Fund Donation

$25.00 - $500.00
Adding to cart… The item has been added

Product Overview

The science of crystallography has played a key role in the development of X-ray diffraction, electron diffraction and neutron diffraction for the elucidation of the atomic structure of matter.

Crystallography is an interdisciplinary branch of science taught in departments of physics, chemistry, geology, molecular biology, metallurgy, and material science. To encourage promising graduate students to pursue crystallographically oriented research, the International Centre for Diffraction Data (ICDD) has established a Crystallography Scholarship Fund, known as the Ludo Frevel Crystallography Scholarship Fund. While the Ewald Prize is awarded every three years to an internationally recognized crystallographer, little effort has been made by science departments to cultivate aspiring crystallographers. Convinced of the beneficial, scientific impact of the proposed scholarships for crystallographically oriented research, the ICDD has solicited funds from private and industrial sectors to support this program.

The ICDD has awarded 227 scholarships since 1991. The 2022 Scholarship Awards were in the amount of $2,500 each. Since the scholarship's inception in 1991, $544,750 has been awarded to aspiring crystallographers.

Please donate to the tax-deductible Ludo Frevel Crystallography Scholarship Fund.

Learn more about the Ludo Frevel Crystollography Scholarship here.